Lunds and Byerly's
About Us Our Stores Shop For Groceries Order Party Food & Gifts Recipes & Expertise Classes & Events

Shopping Tips for Gluten Intolerance

This information sheet has been prepared to assist in shopping for gluten-free products. It is not intended to be a diet instruction guide.

Gluten-free shopping can seem daunting, especially since small amounts of gluten can hide in many food products. This guide will help you know what to avoid and what to select. It is important to remember that a wheat-free product may not be gluten-free. The back of this sheet lists some gluten-free foods found in Lunds and Byerly’s stores to help make your shopping easier.

Gluten-Containing Ingredients to Avoid
These terms indicate the presence of wheat: wheat flour or kernels (wheat berries), wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat starch, farina, cracked wheat, faro (farro) or bulgur, sprouted wheat, durum and semolina.

Also avoid other grains that contain gluten. These include any form of oats (unless labeled gluten-free), rye, barley, spelt, kamut, emmer, einkorn and triticale. Barley might be present as malt or malt powder, barley malt syrup, or barley enzymes. Brown rice syrups often are produced using barley enzymes, so avoid this sweetener unless labeled gluten-free. Malt vinegar is made from barley and is the only vinegar that must be avoided.

Other Potential Gluten Sources
Here are some other things to consider as you read the labels. Hydrolyzed vegetable or plant proteins (HVP, HPP), or modified starches may be made from wheat. Vegetable gum may be made from oats, and yeast or yeast extract may be grown on wheat. Processed cheeses, meats, vegetables and fruits may have some form of gluten added in processing. Rice side dishes and some corn tortillas may contain flour or other gluten-containing ingredients. Some spice mixtures and rubs, mustards and prepared sauces may also contain small amounts of gluten. Asian foods such as soy sauce and miso may have wheat or barley added to the soy. The vegetarian meat substitute seitan or Mock Duck is made from wheat.

Selecting Gluten-Free Ingredients for Cooking and Baking
Look for rice and wild rice, corn (masa harina), sorghum, teff, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, quinoa, and nut and legume flours such as besan (chickpea flour). Products that can replace wheat starch and flour, both in baking and as thickeners, include: cornstarch, cornmeal, rice flour, potato flour and potato starch flour (potato starch), tapioca and arrowroot. Gluten-free baking requires a gluten-replacer to help maintain the structure of baked products. Xanthan gum is a useful substitute.

Sources for Additional Information
“The CSA Gluten Free Products Listing” and other information may be ordered from Celiac Sprue Association®, P.O. Box 31700, Omaha, NE 68131-0700.
1-877-272-4272 Celiacs@csaceliacs.org
Local support groups are located in cities throughout Minnesota. Twin Cities:
CSA Northland Celiac Support Group # 01 Chapter, 952-432-0266 www.northlandceliacs.org

This information has been reviewed by Julie Miller Jones, PHD, CNS, LN © Lund Food Holdings, Inc. 8-10